KANT IN THE CLASSROOM     Materials to aid the study of Kant’s lectures

Kant’s Writings
Academy Edition
Kant’s Life


> Professors

Kant’s Lectures
The Student Notes

Kant’s Rise to Full Professor
Salaries and Benefits
Academic Instruction [Sample Lecture Catalog]
The Academic Schedule
Königsberg Faculty [> Deans and Rectors]
Timelines: [Philosophy] [Theology] [Medicine]

Philosophy Deans and University Rectors

Every faculty (philosophy, theology, law, medicine) had its own dean, and the university as a whole had a rector at its head.  Included here are the deans of the philosophy faculty and the rectors of the university during those semesters when Kant was teaching.  The occupants of these offices changed each semester on a rotating basis (see Universities: Governance and Organization).  The philosophy dean rotated among the eight full professors of philosophy, while the rectorate rotated between the senators from the four faculties (the Academic Senate consisted of the first two full professors of the three higher faculties, plus the four senior professors from the philosophy faculty (plus the dean of that faculty, in the event that he was a junior professor; there are eleven members of the senate during these semesters instead of ten).

In the list below, faculty affiliation is included in parentheses (P = philosophy, T = theology, L = law, M = medicine).  I note how many semesters the individual has served in that capacity, when I have the information.  A '†' following a name indicates that the person died in office, thus requiring the previous rector (who always serves as “prorector” for the following semester), to finish out the term.

Hubatsch [1966, 69-91] includes a full list of the university rectors, from Georg Sabinus (1544) to Hans Bernhard von Grünberg (1937-1944).

Semester Dean (philosophy) Rector Semester Dean (philosophy) Rector
1755 J. B. Hahn, Sr. (12) C. Kowalewski (1)(L) 76/77 C. D. Reusch T. C. Lilienthal (T)
55/56 C. Langhansen M. P. Hartmann (8)(M) 77 K. A. Christiani W. B. Jester (L)
56 J. D. Kypke C. Langhansen (4)(P) 1777/78 F. S. Bock J. C. Bohl (10)(M)
56/57 J. G. Teske J. J. Quandt (7)(T) 78 G. D. Kypke J. F. Werner (P)
57 J. G. Bock T. Boltz (2)(L) 78/79 J. F. Werner G. C. Reccard (T)
57/58 C. A. Christiani J. C. Bohl (5)(M) 79 F. J. Buck W. B. Jester (L)
58 C. Langhansen J. D. Kypke (4)(P) 79/80 I. Kant (2) A. J. Orlovius (M)
58/59 J. D. Kypke F. A. Schultz (7)(T) 80 C. D. Reusch K. A. Christiani (P)†
59 J. G. Teske C. Kowalewski (2)(L) 80/81 J. G. Kreutzfeld T. C. Lilienthal (T)
59/60 J. G. Bock M. P. Hartmann (9)(M) 81 F. S. Bock C. R. Braun (L)
60 C. A. Christiani J. G. Teske (1)(P) 81/82 J. F. Werner J. C. Bohl (11)(M)
60/61 F. S. Bock J. J. Quandt (8)(T) 82 F. J. Buck F. S. Bock (3)(P)
61 J. F. Werner T. Boltz (3)(L) 82/83 I. Kant (3) G. C. Reccard (T)
61/62 G. D. Kypke J. C. Bohl (6)(M) 83 C. D. Reusch W. B. Jester (L)
62 C. Langhansen J. G. Bock (1)(P) 83/84 J. G. Kreutzfeld† A. J. Orlovius (M)
62/63 J. G. Teske F. A. Schultz (8)(T) 84 C. J. Kraus F. J. Buck (P)
63 K. A. Christiani C. Kowalewski (3)(L) 84/85 F. S. Bock J. E. Schulz (T)
63/64 F.S. Bock M. P. Hartmann (10)(L) 85 F. J. Buck G. F. Holtzhauer (L)
64 J. F. Werner C. Langhansen (5)(P) 85/86 I. Kant (4) J. C. Bohl (12)(M)†
64/65 G. D. Kypke J. J. Quandt (9)(T) 86 C. D. Reusch I. Kant (P)
65 F. J. Buck J. L. L'Estocq (1)(L) 86/87 C. J. Kraus G. C. Reccard (T)
65/66 C. Langhansen J. C. Bohl (7)(M) 87 K.E. Mangelsdorff G. F. Holtzhauer (L)
66 C. A. Christiani J. G. Teske (2)(P) 87/88 I. Kant (5) A. J. Orlovius (M)
66/67 J. G.. Teske D. H. Arnoldt (1)(T) 88 C. D. Reusch I. Kant (P)
67 F. S. Bock C. Kowalewski (4)(L) 88/89 C. J. Kraus J. E. Schultz (T)
67/68 J. F. Werner C. G. Büttner (M) 89 K.E. Mangelsdorff G. F. Holtzhauer (L)
68 F. J. Buck K. A. Christiani (P) 89/90 J. Schultz J. D. Metzger (M)
68/69 G. D. Kypke J. J. Quandt (10)(T) 90 J. G. Hasse K. D. Reusch (P)
69 J. G. Lindner J. L. L'Estocq (2)(L) 90/91 S. G. Wald G. C. Reccard (T)
69/70 C. Langhansen† J. C. Bohl (8)(M) 91 I. Kant (6) T. Schmalz (L)
70 J. G. Teske F. S. Bock (1)(P) 91/92 C. D. Reusch C. F. Elsner (M)
70/71 K. A. Christiani D. H. Arnoldt (2)(T) 92 K.E. Mangelsdorff C. J. Kraus (P)
71 F. S. Bock J. L. L’Estocq (3)(L) 92/93 C. J. Kraus J. E. Schulz (T)
71/72 J. F. Werner C. G. Büttner (M) 93 J. Schultz G. F. Holtzhauer (L)
72 G. D. Kypke J. G. Teske (3)(P)† 93/94 J. G. Hasse J. D. Metzger (M)
72/73 F. J. Buck T. C. Lilienthal (T) 94 S. G. Wald K. E. Mangelsdorff (P)
73 J. G. Lindner W. B. Jester (L) 94/95 C. J. Kraus G. C. Reccard (T)
73/74 K. A. Christiani J. C. Bohl (9)(M) 95 C. D. Reusch T. Schmalz (L)
74 F. S. Bock K. A. Christiani (P) 95/96 C. J. Kraus C. F. Elsner (M)
74/75 J. F. Werner D. H. Arnoldt (3)(T) 96 K.E. Mangelsdorff K. D. Reusch (P)
75 G. D. Kypke J. L. L’Estocq (4)(L) 96/97 J. Schultz J. E. Schulz (T)
75/76 F. J. Buck C. G. Büttner (M) 97 J. G. Hasse G. F. Holtzhauer (L)
76 I. Kant (1) F. S. Bock (2)(P) 97/98 S. G. Wald J. D. Metzger (M)