Spider Facts

  Spiders are not insects.  Insects have three body parts and six legs.  Spiders have eight legs and two body parts, the abdomen and the thorax.

  Spiders have silk spinning glands called spinnerets, at the tip of their abdomen.

  Not all spiders spin webs.

  Spiders belong to the Arachnid family.

  There are more than 30,000 species of spiders.

  Spiders are oviparous, which means their babies come from eggs.

  Most spiders have either six or eight eyes.

  All spiders have fangs, through which venom is ejected.  Spider bites can be quite painful, and a select few can be fatal.

  Fear of spiders is called Arachnophobia.  It is one of the most common fears among humans.

  Tarantulas shed their furry skin as they grow, leaving behind what looks just like another tarantula.

  Spiders eat many types of harmful insects, helping to keep your garden free of  pests.